Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeWhat Is An ITIL 4 Certification?

What Is An ITIL 4 Certification?

The ITIL certification introduces the learners to ITIL 4 Certification. This is the latest version of the ITIL 4 exam. The examination will help you to improve and understand the IT-enabled enterprise. The certification also validates that you’re educated in utilizing processes, methods, and terminology common in modern-day IT.

As an ITIL-certified expert, you will possess all the skills to transform and grow a business. Digital solutions mainly trust the current project administration, which concentrates on the objectives of the service. They also pay attention to all the foreseeable problems in maintaining, delivering, and developing the service.

An excellent IT solution management tactic is to know how to mix all the ever-changing factors within the development process.

ITIL 4 Certification: an overview

In July 2013, “Axelos” officially became the owner of ITIL or Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It accredits examinations and ITIL 4 certification training institutes and maintains the ITIL framework.

There are many ATOs or ITIL Accredited Training Organizations that offer training. The ITIL certification examinations might be administered by the end of the training. The exams can also be administered by EI or Examination Institute because many of them work with the ATOs directly.

The ITIL 4 certification utilizes the credit systems for its Foundation Level to the Expert Level. Here, every certification receives a specific number of credits. Learners have to achieve 22 credits to obtain the ITIL expert-level certification. The ITIL Master carries its requirements, which you must check before opting for.

The 5 levels of ITIL 4 certification

Under the Axelos ITIL 4 certification, you will come across five different certification levels. Each of these levels differs from the others and has its requirements and benefits. Let’s learn about these certification levels in detail, while you can also check out some of the crucial updates in this video: “” title=”YouTube video player” frameborder=”0″

1. The ITIL Foundation Certification

This certification contains all the basics of the ITIL program. The certification is ideal for all beginners who wish to gain knowledge and understanding about ITIL and become certified. Out of all the other ITIL 4 certification levels, the foundation one does not need any prerequisites. Candidates who are interested in this subject can sit for the examination.

Candidates can accomplish the ITIL Foundation-level certification exam prep through distance learning, self-study, and classroom options. Candidates do not have to complete a training program before taking the Foundation examination. This ITIL 4 certification test will have 40 MCQs or multiple-choice questions.

Candidates must answer them within 60-minutes with a grade of 65% or must answer 26 questions correctly to pass the examination. The certification also covers all the practice areas of the ITIL. This includes the various lifecycle stages that are connected.

An IT expert who completes the ITIL Foundation certification must also complete the Intermediate or Practitioner level. Doing so will qualify them for the service manager position.

2. ITIL Practitioner Certification

The ITIL Practitioner-level certification is a new entry under the ITIL 4 certification scheme. This particular examination was provided for the first time back in February 2016. This certification is based completely on practical knowledge of all the ITIL methods. It will also teach candidates how to implement all those principles in the real world.

ITIL Practitioners can elucidate how to utilize the ITIL framework to focus on all the organizational metrics, management, communications, and measurement. The practitioner can also explain how the framework can support all the business objectives. This certification is the next stage, right after the ITIL Foundation.

It emphasizes the power to apply, adapt and adopt all the concepts of ITIL in a company. This ITIL 4 certification level is not needed for the upper-level ITIL credits. But achieving the practitioner level can provide you with three credits toward the ITIL expert-level certification.

Candidates can prepare for this ITIL 4 certification course examination through distance and online learning, in-person classroom learning, and self-study options. This examination will contain 40 MCQs; you answer 28 questions correctly or obtain 70% to pass.

3. ITIL Intermediate Certification

This is a module-based certification, and every module concentrates on the various aspects of IT service management. The relevant modules are categorized as “Service Capability” or “Service Lifecycle.”

Service Capability contains the following modules:

  • OSA or Operational Support and Analysis
  • RCV or Release, Control, and Validation
  • PPO or Planning, Protection, and Optimization
  • SOA or Service Offerings and Agreements

Service Lifecycle has the following modules:

  • CSI or Continual Service Improvements
  • SS or Service Strategy
  • SO or Service Operation
  • SD or Service Design
  • ST or Service Transition

To ensure that all the candidates meet their career objectives, Axelos will let them obtain qualifications by picking out modules from both categories. Otherwise, candidates can acquire credentials in any one category.

It’s suggested that you carry around 2 years of experience in IT service management. Be sure to complete the preparation ITIL intermediate examination by completing the ITIL 4 certification training course provided by an ATO.

4. ITIL Expert Certification

This certification encompasses the depth and breadth of the ITIL practices and methods of the ITIL disciplines. The ITIL Expert-level certification is the prerequisite for the ITIL Master-level certification.

To qualify for this certification, you must achieve 17 credits from the Intermediate, Practitioner, and Foundation modules. After that, you must pass the MALC or Managing Across the Lifecycle examination and earn 22 credits.

5. ITIL Master Certification

This certification proves the power to apply the ITIL framework within real-world circumstances. The master-level certification incorporates all the processes and principles of the ITIL. This is covered from the Foundation to the Expert-level certifications.

This ITIL 4 certification program validates full mastery of the ITIL framework once you complete the following:

  • Completing an interview with an ITIL assessment panel
  • Obtaining the ITIL Expert-level certification
  • Submitting a proposal for the service enhancement
  • Validating around 5 years of ITIL experience in leadership or management role
  • Submitting a work package determines your ability to apply the ITIL principles in all real-world business situations. This includes the optimistic impacts on business services.

Final thoughts

Taking up the ITIL 4 Certification will be worth your time, funds, and energy. You will receive an excellent foundation in product knowledge and speed up your professional development. Moreover, the certification will also improve productivity and increase earning potential



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments